Prof. Lalit Malhotra

Prof. Lalit Malhotra
Phone : 01905-237731
EMail : lalitmlhtr[at]iitmandi[dot]ac[dot]in
Address : School of Basic Sciences
IIT Mandi, PWD Rest House 2nd floor,
near Bus Stand, Mandi - 175001

Field of Specialisation

  • Thin Film Physics and Technology
  • Amorphous Semiconductors, Charcogenide glasses, Selective Coating.
  • Dilute magnetic semiconductors, solid state sensors, hydrogenated amorphous silicon and transport conductors.

Academic Career

  • B.Sc.(Phy. Chem. Math) in 1963 from Punjab/Govt. Degree College, Mandi
  • M.Sc.(Phy.) in 1966 from IIT Delhi
  • M.Tech.(Solid State Physics) in 1968 from IIT Delhi
  • Ph.D(Phy.) in 1971 from IIT Delhi

Academic Awards

  • INSA-JSPS Fellowship 1982
  • S.S Bhatnagar Research Endowment Award 1984
  • MRSI Medal 1995

Work Experience Abroad

  • Laboratoire des Optique de Solides University Pierre et Marie Curie, Paris VII, April -Sept 1979
  • Department of Applied Physics Faculty of Engineering, Hokkaido University, Sapporo, Japan, Sept-Oct 1982
  • Electrotechnical Lboratory Tsukuba, Ibaraki, Japan Nov 1982 - Jan 1983

Corporate Contribution at IIT Delhi

  • Deputy Director Administration
  • Dean Post-Graduate Studies and Research
  • dean of Students
  • Head Physics Department
  • Chief Vigilance Ofiicer
  • Chairman Advisory Committee for Library
  • Chairman Institute Grievance Commiittee
  • Chairman House Allotment Committee
  • Chairmen Departmental Research Committee
  • Coordinating Warden
  • Coordinator Thin Film Laboratory
  • Warden Shivalik
  • Chairman Institute Level Committee for Incentives to B,C,D, Employees
  • Chairman Administrative Manual Compilation Committee
  • President of various Clubs and Socities of Boards of RCA and BSA
  • Secretary Departmental Faculty Board and Faculty incharge Stores and Physics Society
  • Chairman Curriculum Review and Development Committee Physics

Corporate Contribution - National

  • Chairman Surface Mount Devices and Surface Mount Technology Materials group, Department of Electronics Govt. of India
  • Member working group B on metals, allows and Semiconducting Materials Working Group on Electronic Materials
  • Working Group on Materials and Components, DOE/MIT Govt. of India
  • Coordinator CSIR/-UGC NET
  • Member Physical Science Research Committee CSIR
  • Member PAC on sensors and instrumentation DST, Govt of India
  • Member UGC Team for IX plan evaluation of Kurukshetra and Jammu University
  • President MRSI(Delhi Chapter)
  • Asian Editor(Physical and chemical Sensors) of Sensor Letters published by American Scientific Publishing